There are many modes in UpexPro that perform routine and other different operations with large data volumes automatically. Basically the programs are created exactly with this purpose – to make operations faster. Let’s name the main modes: “Collections by nomenclature”, “Collections by components”, “Open”, “Technology”.
By clicking the link you can read how they operate. The general factor for them is the creation of a new collection; the link to the collection is written to the block “Collections”. This is the way the information source is connected with the result. And otherwise the result is connected with the information source. It’s all right and logical so far. But sometimes you face a question – something was created incorrectly, the result in unacceptable and so on. Attempt to delete any position will be successful only if it’s not used anywhere and/or it doesn’t contain any information. How we can check it?
Just click the item and you will fall to its information blocks as a rule. You need to enter and to delete it again. You can play with it as much as you desire. But if the item is used anywhere the system will not allow performing such action. What is to be done? It’s quite simple. You click on this item and get to “Information blocks”. If the blocks are empty you can delete it. But only under one condition. You should have the item access right “Author”.
If the blocks contain the information it’s necessary to delete it firstly. Just clean all. You should point to the record or select the group of records and push the button “Delete”. Of course it’s possible only for blocks where this button is available, because some blocks are created automatically and the manual operation is impossible. All blocks are clean but the record cannot be deleted? Let’s check the block “Usage”, the record is certainly there. You click on it and get to information blocks, find this item, delete or replace it. It’s necessary to up-date the block “Usage”. Is it empty? Then you can delete the item without problems. Not empty? Click on the line and try to delete it again in the other information block.
That is the operations sequence. If you want to delete an item you should make sure it is not used anywhere and is not described. If you cannot reach it – just take it easy. Let it be alive. Probably it’s not necessary for you, but somebody needs it. Deletion of the information from the block “Components” from “Collection” also can be not simple, because the component can contain the information blocks and be used in the block “Dependencies” of the other components. You can see all this information by one list in the window “Advanced view”.
One comment – all the information you don’t need you can call “To be deleted”. Also you can create a folder and/or category with self-explanatory name “To be deleted” and keep the information there until you will have time to clear it.